Sioux Falls area umpires in the 

National Indicator Fraternity

Name Location Year
Lyle D. Bly Sioux Falls 1998
Kenneth Friesen Sioux Falls 2002
Rick Graff Sioux Falls 2003
Carmen Hout Sioux Falls 2002
Susan James Alcester 2000
Tim May Sioux Falls 2001
Steve Riswold Sioux Falls 2001
Paul Scholten Sioux Falls 1992
Willard Schumack Sioux Falls 1992
Larry Toft Sioux Falls 2003
Larry Weber Montrose 2001


About the National Indicator Fraternity

This reward program has been available to ASA umpires since 1986. It was originally started as a program for those umpires who have been assigned and officiated in three national championships, but did not qualify or gain approval for International Softball Federation (ISF) certification. Today it is considered the highest level reward program for ASA Umpires, not including the ASA Hall of Fame Umpire classification or ISF certification.

There are currently 1,793 members certified with the National Indicator Fraternity (NIF), with approximately 100-125 added annually. The applicant must have been an ASA registered umpire for at least seven (7) years, but does not have to be currently active. To qualify the umpire must have umpired or served as a national championship UIC or assistant UIC for three nationals, or can substitute attendance at a National Umpire School for one of the nationals. Approval by the state/metro commissioner and the Regional UIC is mandatory for acceptance. Cost is $15 and the umpire receives a certificate, membership card and a patch.

The program is popular for those umpires who have advanced to the next level, and as a result have umpired in three nationals. It is a select group, considering that there are nearly 50,000 umpires nationwide. Names are permanently displayed in the National Hall of Fame and printed annually in the ASA Case Book.

More about the National Indicator Fraternity